Should I still be using f.lux if I want to be sleeping late (6AM or so)?

• Hey.

So I'm new to f.lux and I'm kinda having trouble as to what f.lux does exactly. From what I understand at night time it blocks blue lights from things like monitors, which gets you to sleep earlier.

But unlike normal people I like to sleep at 6AM or so, which means my monitor will be tinted for 12 hours during night time before I sleep. Is there any benefit to this software for people like me?

Cheers.

• Absolutely!

In order to explain why I think so, I need to tell you how I use f.lux. You see, I never know when I'll be going to bed and when I'll be waking up because I have no real sleep/wake schedule: sometimes I'll be going to sleep at night, but sometimes it will be sometime during the day. When it is, I have to change my Location in f.lux to a place where sunset has occurred already so that I can use a color temperature that's warmer than 2700K (I strongly prefer 1200K). This is actually very easy to do and it only take a few seconds.

That's not the only thing that I do though because this would be a waste of time if I am still getting blue light from other sources, such as my indoor lights (including plain incandescent lights). It's also a waste of time if the brightness of my monitor and of my indoor lighting is too high. So, to go for warmer indoor lighting, I change my bedroom's lighting to the warmest color that I have, which I have set up to be pure red (yeah, red!) using FEIT brand red LED lights. I also lower my monitor's brightness to about as far as it goes, and I also block all incoming daylight with my room darkening blinds.So if I'm going to bed in the daytime, I try to do everything that I can to simulate nighttime.